Korea – and a new normal after a cancer diagnosis

I have been off grid in South Korea on a small job in the human rights sector this past month.

You can read about it here.

I call this blog notonlyformyself because I don’t want to live only for myself.

It is a little bit about disobedient priests.

IMG_5950 - version 2

But mostly it is a blog about grace and love and non violence in action.

And unjust politicians, a naval base, a kidnapped democratic process and the beauty of the island of Jeju.

IMG_5977

And about things like this. Things I can’t understand but acknowledge that it is ok just to enjoy the beauty of it.

IMG_5983 - version 2

It has been a year since I was sitting in front of the fire place and waited to start my radiation treatment.

Today I walk around with the C word in my back pocket. I rarely talk about it unless I know people well or feel it is appropriate. Some days I don’t think about having been sick but most days I do.

And life will never be the same.

I may live out my life as an old woman. Or it may come back tomorrow. Who knows. It is a very strange thing to live with.

I am happy and feel fortunate to be alive. I have friends who are very sick and probably wont live out this year. I wonder if I will ever really feel like being intimate with another person again and remember when I took being naked for granted.

Leave a comment