There is a hole in the sidewalk

You know the poem maybe?

I’ll run it by you anyway. And to be correct it is called: There is  hole in My sidewalk.I first read this after coming out of Tibet in the 80s and it had a profound impact on me, as with so many other people. Thinking back and seeing a 21-year-old me sitting in that café in Kathmandu reading it in a badly made copy of The Tibetan Book of Living and dying by Sogyal Rinpoche may sound romantic and exotic. And I guess it was in its own way. Maybe I’ll tell you how it really was some day.

Sorry folks, wanted to insert of photo of Songyal Rinpoche. This is how he normally is portrayed:

But then, there is also this party version of him with Joan Halifax and Richard Gere in 1979.

Oh, BRING IT ON is all I can say.

Form and impermanence and expectation of teachers and change.  We are all, all that. And yes, I am well aware of the controversies around him. But I don’t have my judge on today so I have only one comment and that is that in my book it is very possible to be a good teacher and eh…human.

Many many times I have found myself falling into the hole in the sidewalk even though I saw it coming.

Right now I am not falling in. It could well be that this is changing soon but this sure is one heck of a good day. I have a new friend, an Egyptologist no less coming over for lunch. I have very few people over so this is exciting stuff.

Thinking about my American friends, I hope they all have had a good and peaceful Thanksgiving.

In Sweden we celebrate the beginning of the Christmas season today by lighting one of four candles. Every sunday until yule we light an extra candle so on the last sunday before x-mas four candles are lit. Most Swedes have special more or less extravagant candle-holder for these so-called advent candles.

So, I wish y’all a happy advent by lightning the first candle. And thank you for reading about my inner and outer adventure!

Leave a comment